May 4, 2013; Brooklyn, NY, USA; Chicago Bulls center Joakim Noah (13) celebrates after his team

Joakim Noah Named to First Team All-Defense

The NBA announced today that the Chicago Bulls’ Joakim Noah has been named to the NBA’s All-Defensive first team along with LeBron James, Serge Ibaka, Tony Allen, Chris Paul and — because of a tie — Tyson Chandler.

Marc Gasol, who was named Defensive Player of the Year in April, made the all-defensive second team, falling to third behind Noah and Chandler. If this seems odd to you, don’t worry, it’s happened before, such as last year when Chandler won DPOY and was left off the all-defense teams entirely. It’s because while the media votes for Defensive Player of the Year, the 30 NBA head coaches vote for the all-defensive teams.

Noah finished fourth in the voting for DPOY, while Chandler finished 13th a year after winning the award.

The Bulls will take on the Miami Heat tonight in game four of their semi-final series at 6 p.m. at the United Center.

Next Bulls Game Full schedule »
Wednesday, Oct 2929 Oct8:00at New York KnicksBuy Tickets

Tags: Awards Chicago Bulls Joakim Noah NBA Playoffs

comments powered by Disqus